The End Of The Dream

Last week my hopes, dreams, and aspirations came crashing to a halt, It has happened before after all I never became the next Frank Mahovlich, heck my Dad knew that one wouldn’t work at a young age, as he used to tell me “Son, as a Hockey player you are one hell of a good baseball player”. So since Hockey didn’t work out I put all I could into being a great baseball player and while I was better at that than hockey, it was soon obvious that I wouldn’t make a living doing that either so I moved on to other endeavors. I thought about being a fireman like my Grandfather, My Dad, and my Uncle but again that had a sudden ending when I realized that I was afraid of heights, oh well I took a little comfort in knowing that the family tradition of Firefighting would continue as my brother stepped up to fulfill that dream. After high school I went to college to fulfill my next dream of being the greatest Canadian Media personality ever but after a few years in the radio world I came to the conclusion that perhaps that was not my ultimate dream and moved on to my next aspiration, that of becoming Hespeler’s greatest Chef. I started at the bottom and worked my way up and achieved most of those goals having held the titles of Kitchen manager and even Manager of a few Resturants but after 30 years in the business and little recognition it was time for a new challenge and I had a new dream, but like many of my dreams this one had a short shelf life.  It happened last week when my doctor broke the news that shattered my illusions of glory, she informed me that I had a condition called Vitiligo, a condition in which white patches develop on the skin and mine covers both my ankles thereby killing my dreams of walking the  Fashion runways of Paris, Rome, and New York City as a world famous Ankle model. After all there is a serious lack of older Male models out there to show off the latest ankle socks, Birkenstock sandals, khaki shorts, fuzzy slippers and other apparel that highlights our legs and ankles to the world. And with my legs I thought that perhaps I had found my true calling at this age in life but like my fear of heights keeping me off the Fire department my physical impurity will now keep me off the great runways of the world.  But as my Dad always said, “when one door closes another one hits you from behind” and so I look forward to my next dream job incorporating all that I have learned in almost 60 years on this planet. I am now studying to become a Writer/Wizard/Rasputin Impersonator, surely my physical appearance or fear of heights can not stop that, Can it?

Leave a Reply

