My 50 Great But Sadly Unknown Albums #43 Rumour and Sigh

Rumour and Sigh( 1991) is Richard Thompson’s sixth solo album, he had previously been in the English folk group Fairport Convention and recorded with his then wife Linda Thompson ( they appear later on this list).  The album itself did not appear on the North American charts it did well in Europe and weilded a top 15 hit with “I Feel So Good’ and on the basis of that song he wound appearing on the David Letterman Show to promote it which helped sales of the album and it was nominated for the Grammy’s that year but lost to R.E.M.  This album also contains the song ” 1952 Vincent Black Lightening” which has become his most well known song amongst his solo work and is on Time Magazines  all-time 100 songs, and has been covered by over 20 different artists one of which is Bob Dylan. The album itself is full of challenging work and the time flys by once you get in to it.  My personal favourites are of course “1952” ” I Misunterstood” and “God Loves A Drunk”

Track listing

All songs written by Richard Thompson:

  1. “Read About Love” – 3:34
  2. “I Feel So Good” – 3:21
  3. “I Misunderstood” – 4:05
  4. “Gray Walls” – 4:21
  5. “You Dream Too Much” – 4:06
  6. “Why Must I Plead” – 4:58
  7. “1952 Vincent Black Lightning” – 4:43
  8. “Backlash Love Affair” – 4:49
  9. “Mystery Wind” – 4:35
  10. “Don’t Sit On My Jimmy Shands” – 4:26
  11. “Keep Your Distance” – 4:11
  12. “Mother Knows Best” – 4:59
  13. “God Loves A Drunk” – 4:43
  14. “Psycho Street” – 4:28