Knocking around the Province

Summers here and the long awaited road trips have begun and if I ever find my way out of all this Construction going on in Cambridge my Tolerant wife and I will be heading out this summer for a little R&R and some wonderful photo excursions.  But that is not what this story is about, it is about something I have noticed as we drive up and  around the highways and the backroads of this province we call home, not just the beauty of our province but what each town and hamlet has to say along the way.  Some areas you just marvel at the beauty and the simple life that the residents must live. They all proudly have their city slogans displayed and I noticed that many of them extolled the virtues of the area. Chesley had “The Nicest Town around” and who was I to argue with them, Powasson stated that they were “The Heart of Good Living” and having been to Powasson many times in the past I had to agree with that one. Burks Falls is “A Growing Community nestled within Paradise” and looking around the area it was hard not to agree with the paradise part, North Bay of course advertises themselves as “The Gateway to the North” and of course that is totally correct especially if you have ever been to Wawa and mention North Bay being in Northern Ontario, they will correct you on that one. Parry Sound is of Course ‘The Heart of Ontario”, West Nipissing has “The lifestyle you deserve” and The Sturgeon Falls area is “What a Vacation should be”. Chatham  is #Classic Car Capitol Of Canada” Kingston is “The Limestone City” Owen Sound calls themselves “Chicago Of The North” or “Little Liverpool” I guess they have a bit of a complex, but it is still cool.  Sudbury is the “Nickel Capitol” while Thunder Bay is “Canada’s Gateway To The West”. ” The Gateway to Muskoka” is Gravenhurst while Bracebridge Is “The Heart Of Muskoka”, Cochrane is “Wonderfully Unexpected” and Kenora is “North America’s Premier Boating Destination”. And having been to all these places I heartily agree with them all. And  it goes on and on and that brings me to what we have here in Cambridge “It’s all right here”, not exactly poetic is it but I guess it beats what we could have had, ” The Rivers only smell on the hot days” ,”We are not part of Kitchener” or my favourite “Home of The  Roundabouts” but maybe I’m Jaded, because I love the north and look forward to my yearly trips on our highways to the towns up there and whether it is going to Bala, Bracebridge ,NorthBay  or Sturgeon Falls I always feel a little more freedom when I am there no matter what the signs say.

2 Replies to “Knocking around the Province”

  1. This province does offer so much and I never thought about town slogans before. I am going to have to pay more attention this summer

Leave a Reply

