My Christmas Songs

I like the hoary old chestnuts from Frank and Dean and Andy and I like the traditional Christmas songs as much as the next guy but anyone who has read my material knows I am slightly twisted and that extends to my musical tastes as well. And in that vein I give you my list of favorite Christmas songs:  don’t say I didn’t warn ya!

The beach Boy’s: Little Saint Nick

Plastic Ono Band: Happy Xmas(war is over)

Simon and Garfunkel:7 o’clock news/silent Night

Greg Lake: I believe in Father Christmas

Bing Crosby/David Bowie: Little Drummer Boy

Slade: Merry Christmas Everybody

Kinks: Father Christmas

The Pogues: Fairytale of New York

Roy Woods Wizzard:I wish it could be Christmas every day

Chris Rea:Driving home for Christmas

Steeleye Span: Gaudet

Jethro Tull: Ring Out Solstice bells

Ray Charles and Nina Simone: Baby it’s cold outside

Eartha Kitt: Santa Baby

Bob and Doug McKenzie: 12 Days of Christmas

So there you go, head to YouTube and look them all up and give a listen. Now, what are yours.

5 Replies to “My Christmas Songs”

  1. This would be my favourite Christmas tunes for today. List will probably change tomorrow!

    All Alone at Christmas – Darlene Love

    Please Come Home for Christmas – Southside Johnny Lyon

    Run Rudolph Run – Chuck Berry

    Hey Santa Claus – Moonglows

    Little Toy Trains – Susan Aglukark

    Count Your Blessings Instead of Sheep – Dianna Krall

    The Christmas Song – Nat King Cole

    Driving Home For Christmas – Chris Rea

    Aspen Glow – John Denver

    What Ever happened to Christmas – Frank Sinatra

    I Believe in Father Christmas – Sarah Brightman

    [Mis deseos] Feliz Navidad – Michael Bublé duet with Thalia

    Mele Kalikimaka – Bing Crosby

    Santa Bring My Baby Back To Me – Elvis

    Ty, tyvm,
    Elvis

  2. Two more tunes to add to my list:

    God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen/We Three Kings – Barenaked Ladies with Sarah McLachlan

    Mary Had A Baby – Bruce Cockburn

    Ty, tyvm,
    Elvis

  3. Yes I love the Christmas tunes from the 40s, 50s and 60s too but one CD released 6 years ago has captured and titillated my musical ear. Its recorded by Sarah Brightman, and titled “A Winter Symphony”
    She may be the world’s biggest-selling soprano artist of all time but I do not enjoy too much of her work, however this one is exceptional for the Christmas season. Released in November 2008 and produced by Frank Peterson for their 7th collaboration on studio albums. Brightman puts her unique vocal talents to seasonal standards and classical tunes including “Silent Night” and “Jesu, Joy of Man’s desiring” [One of my favourites] and a duet with Fernando Lima on “Ave Maria”. The opening track is a vocal version of Abba’s instrumental “Arrival” and the album concludes with “I Believe In father Christmas” [Written by Kink Crimson Alumni Greg Lake and Peter Sinfiled with a little bit of Prokofiev thrown in]. This album stretches the Christmas season beyond its traditional dates. It’s well worth a listen.

Leave a Reply

