The Last Free Summer(Part 3)..The Movies

And boy was 1972 a good summer for the Cinema. A lot of my paper route money and the money I got from my parents went into music and the movies that summer, after all if I was going to grow up well-educated and wanted to hit up the lady’s I had to know what was current didn’t I?

The Godfather had been released in March of the year, but I did not get a chance to see it until early June and I came out of it just stunned by everything about it, the music, acting and even though I did not really know who Al Pacino was I wound up imitating him all summer. In July Deliverance hit the big screen and needless to say left everyone squealing.  August brought Woody Allen’s Everything you always wanted to know about sex, a book that I had read the previous winter and managed to sneak into to see it, and it was well worth it. But the biggest movie was one that was released earlier in the year but had never played in the area, and somehow a Friends older brother had managed to get a copy on reel to reel and that movie was the underground classic FRITZ THE CAT,  an animated story about a cat in New York City that had all of us young teens laughing so hard we almost passed out(well that and a few other things). he film is a satire focusing on American college life of the era, race relations, the free love movement, and left and right-wing politics. Fritz the Cat is the most successful independent animated feature of all time, grossing over $100 million worldwide.  

While there were other movies from that Last free Summer, those above are the ones that when they appear on TV or on Video I recall the youth and the fun of that summer.

Leave a Reply

