[Sort of] A Ghost Story

I grew up in a big old house in Hespeler, that to me was haunted. And this is one of those stories that could have been a great Ghost Story, but since that would spoil the ending let me  start at the beginning.

It was a warm spring Sunday evening in 1967 and I had just finished watching my Television programs in the living room with my family, Gentle Ben,Ed Sullivan and Bonanza were the programs of choice. Off to bed I went for a relaxing sleep, or so I thought. At around 3 am I awoke to take a pea when I caught out of the corner of my eye the rocking chair under the window in my room was moving and a white clad figure was occupying the chair. Frozen in bed and now unable to pee I pulled up the sheets on my bed over my head and shivered, hoping that the ghost would soon leave. No such luck. Every 1/2 hour it seemed I checked and that ghost was still there and rocking the chair back and forth. Unable to scream or even mouth “HELP” I waited for morning and eventually dozed off thankfully.
As dawn arrived and I opened my eyes,my fear of the ghost turned to embarrassment and then shame at what I had gone through the night before.
You see, what had happened was this. Being that it was a warm evening my Mother had opened the bedroom window before laying a freshly cleaned white bed sheet over the rocking chair that just happened to have an arched back, that created a head-like shape. That and the wind nicely blowing in the window kept the chair moving and the newly dried sheet flowing. So it was not a ghost at all and I made it clear to my Mother that she should never do that again. Her only comment on the situation…how did you hold your pee so long? And now that I think about it..how did I? Amazing the things you can do at 10 years old.

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 thoughts on “[Sort of] A Ghost Story

Leave a Reply

