The Music Of Spring

As spring slowly arrives, my thoughts turned to the music of spring, while Summer and Winter seem to dominate the music business, spring seems to be one that is not written about as much.  But I was able to gather some songs that invoke the coming of Spring. So here are my top 10 songs of Spring( remember, no wagering)

10. Return to innocence- Enigma 1994. I don’t know why but this song makes me think of spring and the chanting in it is very haunting.

9. Time Of The Season-The Zombie’s 1968. From the opening beat and the great vocals of Colin Blunstone, this song just speaks for spring.

8. Springtime Promises -Pentangle 1969. This song written by the Great Bert Jansch is about a bus ride on a spring day, need I say more?

7. Another Spring Nina Simone 1969. This song is from one of the great Jazz singers of our time and whiles not well-known is a beautiful song about the hope of spring. It is just Nina and her piano.  “Cos this old world has been fine with me really
And I’m thankful for seeing another spring
It’s gonna be better this time another spring
It’s gonna be groovier this time another spring
It’s what’s happening this time
So I’m thankful for letting me see another spring”

6.Daydream-The Loving Spoonful. 1966. This is most likely on everybody’s list.  Spring and daydreaming, they go together like chocolate and milk.

5. 59th Street Bridge Song(Feeling Groovy). -Simon and Garfunkle 1966.  “Hello lamp-post,
What cha knowin’?
I’ve come to watch your flowers growin’.
Ain’t cha got no rhymes for me?
Doot-in’ doo-doo,
Feelin’ groovy.”….who doesn’t feel groovy on a  sweet spring morning?

4. The First Day’s of Spring-Noah and the Whale 2009. From the beginning drum beats this song grabs you. It is a song about starting all over. Must be heard to be appreciated.

3. You Can never hold back Spring – Tom Waits 2006. What list is complete without a Tom Waits Song?

2. April in Paris -Billie Holiday 1956. Jazz Singers and Spring seem to work well and   this 1932 nugget was the perfect fit for Billie.

1.Here Comes The Sun- The Beatles 1969. George Harrison’s unforgettable classic is always on the list and once again it hits #1 on my list.

I hope everyone enjoys the spring.

Leave a Reply

