The Radio

The radio on my boyhood dresser was an old tabletop model with tubes. The top was cracked and at high volume, the busted brown plastic made it screech. My father got it when a great-aunt or uncle died I think, and it looked like the type of thing you would get at a junkyard.But It was one of the greatest treasures he ever gave me. For with that radio he opened a new world that was hard to forget. As a ten-year old the sounds that came out of that cracked jewel on my dresser changed my world. The Everly Brothers, the Righteous Brothers, Simon and Garfunkel, Dusty Springfield, The Rascals and The Moody Blues came pouring out of that box like Angels from heaven, there. I had discovered music that my parents did not listen to. Sure my older brother and sister played their records and listened to their radios, BUT, THIS WAS MY RADIO, and no one was going to tell me what to listen to anymore.  Frank, Dean, and Elvis were the other generations and when I heard She Loves You by the Beatles and the first scream by my Dad and Mom to TURN IT DOWN I knew I had found my calling. Music,MY MUSIC, would be my salvation, it would set me free and make me different from my big brother and sister, and even though I would learn to love all the other music that radio would allow me to define myself and create a world that I could call my own. It was CHUM,CHAM, CKWR, CFTR, all radio stations playing MY music. The Beatles, the Monkees, Neil Diamond, songs like Louie Louie, Gloria, Satisfaction,Go all the way and Moondance would be my break from reality. I could drift away in a Rock and Roll Lullaby. And as the ’60s morphed into the ’70s, music defined my teenage years. Pink Floyd,Led Zeppelin and Rush may have replaced the Doors, the Beatles and Simon and Garfunkel, but that radio, even though long gone,still held in my soul a very special place. Now it is 2015 and I am listening to my music through technology that we never dreamed of back then, but I still think back to that night when I first turned on that radio in 1967 and the strange noise began to emerge from that box. The voice sounded so sad, the sound so rich, the melody’s so tight I was dumbstruck by it all “You’ve lost that loving feeling”. I can tell you I have never lost that loving feeling for the world of music. All thanks to my Father and that old cracked music box. Somewhere out in the heavens and the cosmos an old radio is playing “Nothin’ but blues and Elvis
And somebody else’s’ favorite song”

2 thoughts on “The Radio

  1. Yes the tube radio, sometimes called a “Wireless”, sounded real sweet. I grew up listening to Rock “N” Roll on it. Mine was the Elvis generation.

    Ty, tyvm,
    Elvis

Leave a Reply

