Running with scissors

I am into my 60th year on this planet and even though I am enjoying life more at this age than at any other time,  there are some things that bothered me as a kid that still bothers me today. They may seem insignificant to you readers but they stick in my mind like a bad Donny Osmond song.
I hated making my bed as a kid and still do to this day, I mean we are just going to mess it up again, right?. And while I am on the subject, cleaning my room is still an issue, after all. as I tell my wife, we are the only two that use it so is going to see the mess?
Of course that ties into another thing that bugs me and that is being nagged. Growing up it was my Mother and now it is my Wife[ and yes i am taking out the garbage, as soon as I am done this story]. I remember going on summer trips with my family when I was younger and always having to take a washroom break almost as soon as we left,  And just last weekend I went to  a family get-together in Eugenia  and even though we were not even on the other side of Guelph  I had to go pee,  and man that bugs me. I hated Asparagus then and I ihate the damn stuff  now! And nobody is going to make me eat them. I remember as a kid my Mom always yelling at me and I am sure if she was able to  she would do  it by  Cell phone and Internet, sometime technology isn’t for the better. As a kid having to get dressed up was a hate of mine and today I STILL hate to get dressed up, goodness gracious, Blue Jeans and a nice sweater is Vogue to me. And of course my wife tells me I am still not old enough to know it all, and that bugs me. My mother used to remind me not to run with scissors, so yesterday when my wife asked me to get the scissors from her knitting room she yelled” Don’t Run with the scissors” , really, how stupid does she think I am! Hey, Mike Cahill, don’t answer that! When I was a kid I hated to get my hair cut and I still hate it, but only because for the amount of hair that is on my head, 20 bucks seems like a lot.I hated that my parents never understood some of my references to pop culture, now I hate that my Grandkids don’t get my references to pop culture. And finally, I hate being spanked because i am a bad boy…..oops..sorry wrong list for that one.
So what did you hate as a kid that you still hate today? And no liver answers, I actually like that stuff.

Leave a Reply

