Sweet Memory’s

Saturday night my wife and I somehow got a sugar craze and decided to get some chocolate and so off to the local store to get something I went, and after looking over the selection I wound up buying the old reliable Aero bar for myself and a 3 musketeers for my wife, but it got me thinking about some of the old goodies that I grew up with during my formative years in the late 1960’s.

But where do you start? How about with the ultimate 60’s item,  a licorice beatles record, that’s right an edible black licorice record looking item wrapped in a beatles cover, you just had to have one of those, but if records were not for you but you still like licorice you could have had a licorice pipe with sprinkles on it or if you were not sophisticated enough for that, well the licorice cigar would do the trick.

Not everything though was licorice, you could still pretend to smoke by buying the Popeye brand candy cigarettes, they made you look cool without the nagging cough.  There was also bubblegum cigars, you could make your lips look cool with the Wax lips, you could buy your girlfriend a candy necklace or share a pack of sweet tarts or love hearts with the sappy saying on them.

Gum was always a favorite  who could do without the Juicy fruit, Beemans or the gum that tasted like soap, Thrills, and of course there was the fruit stripe gum as well. You could stick a cinnamon toothpick in your mouth and look cool and freshen your breath all at once.  There were BB Bats, black babies(political incorrect, but we didn’t know better back then), candy buttons just to name a few. But as i stood standing looking at all the chocolate bar brands available I had a craving for a few that do not exist anymore, The Neilson Four Flavour and the Rum and butter were two of them that i would have loved to have had last night but the one that i miss the most is the Neilson treasures, a chocolate bar in which the six pieces were all different flavours, it was like eating a box of my Mom’s black magic Chocolates all by myself. And while the Aero bar was good, I think I would have giving it up for almost any of the above goodies. Times do change, but not always the way we want it.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Memory’s

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  2. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,Diet Guide!

Leave a Reply

