In My Merry Oldsmobile

From Music to Movies the car has been involved in telling many a tale and our lifestyles have revolved around the four-wheeled beasts.  Who doesn’t remember listening to Night Moves by Bob Seger and hearing the line”Out past the cornfields where the woods got heavy,Out in the back seat of my ’60 Chevy”, or hearing Don McLeans painful wail” Drove my Chevy to the levee but the levee was dry”.  But for the future is the use of the car as a metaphor for everything gone? Let’s look at it, would “Drove my Prius to the levee” sound as good and bring back some great memory’s, not likely, as well would “Out in the back seat of my smart car” allow you to envision a couple discovering first love? I didn’t think so. Will we ever have a Bruce Springsteen song that could use this line”Sprung from cages out on highway 9,
Chrome wheeled, fuel injected and stepping out over the line”? It just wouldn’t sound the same if it was about an electric car now would it. 20 years from now when this generation starts writing about their memory’s,fears and loves there won’t be songs like “Little Red Corvette”, “Hot Rod Lincoln” and a song like ‘Paradise by the Dashboard light” would never be written if the new breed of cars was around back then. The beach Boys would sound pretty silly having to sing about “My Little Flex Car” and would “Fun Fun Fun” sound as good with a lyric like” And we’ll have fun fun fun till her daddy takes her focus away”? God Help us, is all I have to say on that. Janis Joplin crying about wanting someone to buy her an “Mercedes-Benz” would be just a laugh it was about wanting someone to buy her a “Transit Connect EV” now wouldn’t it.

And what about the movies? Bullitt and its classic car chase in which Steve McQueen drove his Mustang through the streets of San Fransisco would not be the adrenaline rush that it is if he was driving a  Chevy Spark, hell my Mom in her walker would probably go faster than that. The Italian Job, Vanishing point, The french Connection all featured car chases that would seem silly if the were done today using the new breed of cars. Not that I don’t think that we need more fuel efficient vehicles but I just hope I am not around to hear my  grand children listening to their favorite artist singing a line like” I got a 2012 Aveo with 4 cylinders, a good exhaust system hooked up, tonight we are going out on the strip, as soon as I charge this thing up”  Oh, now I guess it is time to go and put on ‘I can’t drive 55″ by Sammy Hagar, perhaps they can keep that one after all maybe in the future no car will be able to go 55.

4 Replies to “In My Merry Oldsmobile”

  1. Here Hear funny as hell and the cougar of yester year is not the same as today 72 was a good year but 75 was better.

  2. Lyrics from the Little Richard and Elvis tune Rip It Up “Got me a date and I won’t be late,
    Picked her up in my 88,” would not sound the same with “Picked her up in my 4×4”

    Elvis

Leave a Reply

