Searching

After a couple months of unemployment I have started to look at getting back into the workforce and as such have a couple of interviews coming up next week. Having spent the better part of the last 25 years in the restaurant business, that is where I am putting most of my attention. However, since I do know a thing or two about the business, I will be shadow interviewing the places that currently are looking to hire me, and there are a few things I look at before I decide to take a job.

You have to be comfortable in a job and if I see the walls of a restaurant are covered in framed health code violations, maybe I don’t want  to work there. If the coffee isnt bottomless but the bus boy’s are, I don’t want to work there.

Every restaurant has decor, but if they proudly display a collection of their vintage stomach pumps, maybe I will stay away from there. If the waitresses have nicknames like’Typhoid Mary” or “Salmon Ella” i may not go work there.

If I notice that the photo’s of celebrities that eat there are just pictures of the Cambridge Advocate contributors, I don’t think I will work there.  Now sometimes a long lineup at a restaurant is a good thing, but not if it is the one going into the bathroom, and if that is the case, I’,m not going to work there.

If they make you sign a waiver of liability, I don’t think I would work there. I sure has heck wouldn’t want to work in  a resturant that instead of handicap Parking has reserved spaces for Ambulances.

Now that I think about it, I wonder if the Cambridge Times needs a Paper Boy!

Leave a Reply

